Singapore Airlines

This is the image description.

Covid-19: SIA transit flights through Singapore

SIA and Scoot customers may transit through Singapore Changi Airport from approved cities to destinations within the SIA Group network currently operated by both airlines.

You can transit through Singapore if your flight itinerary meets either of the following:

1. You are departing from a city approved for transit flights through Singapore. For example, passengers may depart from Bangkok and transit through Singapore to Melbourne as Bangkok is among the list of departure cities for transit flights.

2. You are connecting to a city approved for transit flights, before transiting through Singapore to your final destination. In such instances, your first point of departure should be from the countries listed here. For example, Vientiane – Kuala Lumpur – Singapore – Melbourne. 

The same requirements apply for return flights.

From 19 October 2021, travellers will be allowed to transit through Singapore on Vaccinated Travel Lane (VTL) flights if they meet all applicable VTL eligibility requirements.

Passengers should also take note of the following:
  • All travellers, including Singapore citizens and permanent residents, transiting through Singapore will be required to take a pre-departure Covid-19 PCR test within 48 hours of the scheduled departure date of their flight (i.e. passengers departing on 3 September can take the test any time from 1 September onwards). The test must be taken at a recognised or accredited clinic, laboratory or medical facility. For a smoother check-in process, you should check if the clinic is able to provide a test certificate with a corresponding QR code. This QR code should link to your digital pre-departure test certificate. The requirement for a pre-departure Covid-19 test does not apply to passengers aged 2 and below (i.e. born in or after 2019), as well as those who have remained in the following places for the past 14 days: Hong Kong SAR, China; Macao SAR, China; Mainland China; and Taiwan, China.
  • Only passengers travelling with an airline whose transfer routes have been approved by the Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore (CAAS) will be allowed to transit in Singapore. Transfers between Singapore Airlines, Scoot, Air France, KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, Air Niugini, Garuda Indonesia, Lufthansa, Swiss International Air Lines and Turkish Airlines have been approved by CAAS for transit in Singapore. Transfers to and from flights operated by other airlines, that have not been approved by CAAS are currently not allowed.
  • Passengers with a travel history to Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka in the past 14 days will not be allowed to transit through Singapore Changi Airport.
  • Transfers to destinations in Mainland China are currently also not allowed.​
  • Singapore Airlines will also stop carrying transit passengers departing from Singapore to Hong Kong due to regulatory requirements. Services from Hong Kong to Singapore remain unaffected, and passengers originating from Hong Kong will be allowed to transfer through Singapore Changi Airport en-route to their final destinations.
  • Travellers with recent travel history to Australia, Brunei and New Zealand, travellers may transit through Singapore to their final destination if they meet the travel requirements of their journey.

For the latest cities approved for transit flights through Singapore, please refer to the table here.

For the latest Singapore Airlines flight schedules, please refer here. Please refer here for Scoot flight schedules.

Booking a Flight - Single Tickets and Complying with Entry Requirements

Customers should book the full journey on one ticket, instead of splitting it up into separate tickets, to comply with regulatory requirements during this period. They should also ensure that they meet the entry requirements for their final destination.

Transit at Singapore Changi Airport

There are regulatory restrictions in place for transit passengers at Changi Airport. Transit passengers may experience restricted movement within the transit area, as well as other regulatory measures. For more information on the transit restrictions, please visit this link. Please note that transit time in Singapore should not exceed 48 hours. 

Certain transit measures do not apply to transit passengers from countries/regions which Singapore has unilaterally lifted border restrictions. These are Hong Kong SAR, China; Macao SAR, China; Mainland China; and Taiwan, China. 

On Board

Singapore Airlines is committed to the well-being of our customers and has precautionary measures in place to ensure their health and safety throughout their journey. More details can be found here.

For Covid-19 related travel information, please visit our dedicated Information Centre.

First posted on 11 June 2020, 0800hrs (GMT+8)
Last updated on 11 October 2021, 2100hrs (GMT+8)